Home > Bittorrent, Piratey Stuff, Research > Attempt at Record Bittorrent Swarm Size

Attempt at Record Bittorrent Swarm Size

A record attempt has been started invoving bittorrent, to see just how many seeds can be on one torrent. The current record for simultanious seeds on a torrent is around 124,000, set for an episode of Heroes. The attempt uses a small image file for the contents, and already has a decent number of seeds.

The record attempt was started just after midnight UK time, on July 1st (approx 1 hour ago, at time of writing) and hopes to reach it’s target within a week. Graham, who came up with the attempt, was curious as to just how big a swarm could get, as well as for the main reason of records – to have the person responsible immortalised, even if only briefly, and the initial advertisment was via the UK Pirate Party IRC channel.

[19:08.41] <Jigsy> Anyone interested in a little brainchild of mine?
[19:09.16] <Jigsy> http://jigsy.ath.cx/World_Record_For_Most_Seeds_[28A493EE].jpg.torrent
[19:09.19] <Jigsy> Download, seed, that’s it
(Times in US Eastern).

The content can be downloaded from the above link, or by using this Magnet URI
magnet:?xt=urn:btih:HPKGEHD2RDJBLIWIXKJ42HWUSQBUDVTX&dn=World_Record_For_Most_Seeds_[28A493EE].jpg&tr=http://tracker.openbittorrent.com/announce
(requires utorrent or similar, will not work with Vuze – If you need some help using a magnet URI, then watch this video)

I’ll keep you posted on how it’s going.

UPDATE 8pm EDT: The Torrent file now has some mirrors as well, see the comments for details.

The image file in the torrent

  1. June 30, 2010 at 19:58

    As my Internet goes down quite a lot (Thanks TalkTalk. ;_;), I uploaded it to a mirror.

    http://www.mediafire.com/?qn1chkzduhy

  2. June 30, 2010 at 20:20

    Wow, 124,000?!

    If that is not attractive for the copyright-faggots, then nothing will be.

  3. Kaho
    July 1, 2010 at 05:06

    I have joined

  4. Kaho
    July 1, 2010 at 05:12

    Kaho :

    I have joined

    O k 48 seeds as of now

  5. July 1, 2010 at 05:14

    ill join As soon ill be back at home 😀

    ~ Yuu

  6. July 7, 2010 at 12:24

    I’m in!

  7. Anonymous
    July 7, 2010 at 14:44

    Great idea,
    just started it 😉

  8. Stolengolem
    July 7, 2010 at 15:22

    I’m reading 0 seeds and 0 peers right now even though the client’s working normally. Is everyone else up and running?

    • ktetch
      July 7, 2010 at 15:31

      Right now, obt (the tracker) is offline

      • Stolengolem
        July 7, 2010 at 15:45

        Cheers for the update =)

  9. b3arring
    July 8, 2010 at 04:50

    oke guys fun idea and I hope that it’ll work out I’ve put the torrent on my box target a 1000 ratio;)

  10. July 13, 2010 at 10:52

    So, I see only 92 seeds now. Is this correct?

  11. July 18, 2010 at 05:47

    I only just found out about this or I would have been in from the start.

    I like world records, I was one of the early firefox world record downloaders 🙂

    Seeding 24/7

  12. October 25, 2010 at 01:09

    I tried to use it but it doesn’t work. I am getting connection errors. Meanwhile my ubuntu download is going quite smoothly and that when its a metalink. I have also been downloading with other torrents but no issues. Can somebody tell me if there is more than one tracker hosting it. Looking inside the file it tells me that only one tracker openbittorent is there. If there are multiple trackers then there is possibility of doing some world record beating, otherwise not. Just my 2 paise.

  1. July 7, 2010 at 18:14
  2. July 25, 2010 at 15:03

Leave a Reply

